mercat: (Default)
Happy Thanksgiving, y'all! Still here. Still alive. Still posting. Hope you're all doing okay, too.

Maybe have some pie?



Then there's turkey, or maybe some other birds if that's not your thing.

rolls
mashed potatoes
cranberry sauce
stuffing
green bean casserole

and, as always, yams.

2004
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
2010
2011
2012
2013
2014(2)
2015
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
mercat: (Default)
I hope everyone's staying home and healthy and sane in this crazy year. Perhaps I could offer you a gravy bowl?



Or maybe a classic turkey is more your style.

Then there's oysters,
and green bean casserole,
and rolls,
and corn,
and sweet potatoes,
and pie. A lot of it.

And number nine—

the yams.

The

yams.

The yams.


Really do stay safe out there! Say hello if you drop by. :)


2004
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
2010
2011
2012
2013
2014(2)
2015
2016
2017
2018
2019
mercat: (Default)
I had a whole song parody ready to go again this year... and now I can't remember what it was. But good news, I found an actual Thanksgiving song!



And now, the weather:

turkey
green bean casserole
corn
turnips
cranberry sauce
pumpkin pie
And, as always, the yams.



2004
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
2010
2011
2012
2013
2014(2)
2015
2016
2017
2018

I'm still around! Happy thanksgiving!
mercat: (Default)
The rolls are in the pan
And I ain't seen the turkey since 'bout ten AM
We're stuck here at the table... waitin' on that bird
But what we've got instead, well... it's a flamingo, lord.



Well we were mashing taters
And buttering the corn
And cooking green bean casserole and drinking from the horn
But I made a turkey hot shot... put it on some rye
And bring out the yam stories... people just roll their eyes.

(If you're still feelin' hungry... don't forget pumpkin pie.)


Happy Thanksgiving everyone! I'm a little late this year, but better late than never. Let me know if you're still around these days! And may these days be filled with friendship and blessings and a respite from all the bullshit out there. You know where to find me. <3

2004
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
2010
2011
2012
2013
2014(2)
2015
2016
2017
mercat: (Default)
to talk of Thanksgiving!



(turkey source)

(...cranberry source)

"Of corn, and peas, and casserole,
off cabbages, and greens,
and
why potatoes taste so great,
and gravy on stuffing."

"A lot of thanks," the Walrus said,
"Is what we chiefly need:
Friends and family besides
Are very good indeed--
Now if you're ready, fam'ly dear,
We can begin to feed."


Happy thanksgiving, all!

2004
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
2010
2011
2012
2013
2014(2)
2015
2016
mercat: (Default)
Hopefully this Thanksgiving is less shitty than the rest of this year has been! Here's your annual Thanksgiving menu to cheer you up.



Turkey!
Green bean casserole!
Corn!
Mashed potatoes!
Gravy!
Stuffing!
Pumpkin pie!

And the ever wonderful yams.


2004
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
2010
2011
2012
2013
2014(2)
2015

Leave me a note if you're still around! :)
mercat: (Default)
It's here, kids! I hope you're having a wonderful day. (And yes, I'm still alive.)



Here's your turkey, Ohio-style.

Corn!
Mashed potatoes!
Green bean casserole! Also, apparently, a midwestern thing?
Stuffing!
Pumpkin pie!
I yam eternal on the thanksgiving road!



And now, the rest of the dozen delicious!

2004
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
2010
2011
2012
2013

The 2014 post...sort of.
mercat: (Default)
I've been saving up stupid stuff all year to whip up a really great Thanksgiving post for this one! Enjoy your meal folks, and happy holidays! Sorry I have kind of dropped off the LJ map... but you know where to find me otherwise, and I'll keep coming back nonetheless. Now, EAT UP! It's a weird menu... but that's the way it should be.



Cranberry sauce... er, cranberry zombie? Actually, that sounds delicioius.
Turkey
Potatoes
Stuffing
Ambrosia salad
Pumpkin pie
Croutons
and, by all means, the yams.



Happy Thanksgiving! :)

The first nine:
2004
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
2010
2011
2012
mercat: (Default)
I'm rather excited that I'm actually doing something for a holiday while living out here, for once, as Easter was pretty much a huge flop. The benefits of being forced to socialize! :D (As I predicted, the reason I would rather live with roommates.) We're making turkey, pumpkin pie, green bean casserole, and sweet potatoes. Keeping it pretty simple but there's only five of us so there you go. Would be nice to have some Hawaiian food or something but all of our final projects are due in a week, sooooo no time for big plans.

THIS YEAR'S MENU:
Turkey
Green bean casserole
Pumpkin pie
and, of course, the yams.


And here is a behind-the-scenes Temple of Doom pic I never saw before, so I stole it from the Indiana Jones facebook page that posted it:



Happy Thanksgiving!

OLD THANKSGIVING POSTS:
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004

Looks like next year will be my TENTH ANNUAL thanksgiving post, HOLY SHIT. I'm actually going to have to sit down for more than 10 minutes in the morning while we're all trying to cook the meal and make sure it's super quality! ;)
mercat: (Default)
Also my dad's cousin opened up her luggage and found a gecko/anole/something inside. So now we're going to buy crickets to feed it.
mercat: (Default)
Also my dad's cousin opened up her luggage and found a gecko/anole/something inside. So now we're going to buy crickets to feed it.
mercat: (Default)
I got one, maybe two hours of sleep

I punched myself in the nose because of a damn poorly-designed conditioner bottle, and now I have a scratch across my nose and upper lip

I haven't been spelling things right all day

My cousin Kyle doesn't understand thermodynamics and shattered a glass bowl with boiling simple syrup everywhere pushing back dinner two hours

Dinner was delicious, bee tee dubs

Nobody cried for missing gramps (that I saw) (I think we're all tired of grandma's bullshit let's be honest) (we're all going to lose it Saturday)

Our cousin Chris showed up (the family "drunk" as it were-- he parties hard with no shame) and we all ended up making a post-dinner trek to Kroger for beer and cider and cups and pong balls

Kroger locked us out because they were closing in five minutes, I went back to the car and my sister and cousins snuck in the exit and beat a fair number of people through the line

I forgot to mention that my cousin was playing the CDs his Hitting-On-Him-Gay-Boss made for him but they cranked them up until I was deaf and they are all terrible dancers

Kyle owes me a game of Beer Hunter for driving them

I missed the James Bond marathon on SyFy and it occurred to me I've never seen a Timothy Dalton or George Lazenby one

But we found out Cato (Pink Panther) was in Goldfinger and that the character is also apparently in Inspector Gadget What I Can't Even

So we played beer pong on the porch and I think they got a fair number of the adults involved, apparently my sister got my grandma to swear to play a game next summer

Meanwhile I passed out in the basement for at least two hours and I still don't know what




So that was today

(I think this is the third time this year I've punched myself in the face)
mercat: (Default)
I got one, maybe two hours of sleep

I punched myself in the nose because of a damn poorly-designed conditioner bottle, and now I have a scratch across my nose and upper lip

I haven't been spelling things right all day

My cousin Kyle doesn't understand thermodynamics and shattered a glass bowl with boiling simple syrup everywhere pushing back dinner two hours

Dinner was delicious, bee tee dubs

Nobody cried for missing gramps (that I saw) (I think we're all tired of grandma's bullshit let's be honest) (we're all going to lose it Saturday)

Our cousin Chris showed up (the family "drunk" as it were-- he parties hard with no shame) and we all ended up making a post-dinner trek to Kroger for beer and cider and cups and pong balls

Kroger locked us out because they were closing in five minutes, I went back to the car and my sister and cousins snuck in the exit and beat a fair number of people through the line

I forgot to mention that my cousin was playing the CDs his Hitting-On-Him-Gay-Boss made for him but they cranked them up until I was deaf and they are all terrible dancers

Kyle owes me a game of Beer Hunter for driving them

I missed the James Bond marathon on SyFy and it occurred to me I've never seen a Timothy Dalton or George Lazenby one

But we found out Cato (Pink Panther) was in Goldfinger and that the character is also apparently in Inspector Gadget What I Can't Even

So we played beer pong on the porch and I think they got a fair number of the adults involved, apparently my sister got my grandma to swear to play a game next summer

Meanwhile I passed out in the basement for at least two hours and I still don't know what




So that was today

(I think this is the third time this year I've punched myself in the face)

HOLYSHITSO

Nov. 24th, 2011 10:44 am
mercat: (Default)
I DIDN'T SLEEP MUCH LAST NIGHT

GOT LIKE TWO HOURS

MAYBE

HAPPY FUCKSGIVEN WHICH I HAVE DETERMINED IS THE INTERSECTION OF THANKSGIVING, TURDUCKEN, AND NOT GIVING A FUCK


HAVE SOME TURKEYS WITH CROWNS BECAUSE I DON'T EVEN KNOW, FOR REALS

Photobucket

Is this a thing?

Photobucket

I guess that's a thing. Well, whatever. It's a thing now.

I DON'T HAVE ANYTHING FOR A MENU THIS YEAR but hey, I am so totally out of it, let's just say I'm intending to break tradition so I don't stress myself out in the future. RIGHT? RIGHT. Because this week has been ridiculous dealing with my grandma. Lord love her but HOLY SHITCAKES, GRANDMA. She talks and talks and talks and complains and doesn't listen when you try to explain or fix it or teach her to fix it.

SO here's the yams and holy shit I'm watching Power Rangers on the Macy's Parade right now, WHAT IS TODAY.

HOLYSHITSO

Nov. 24th, 2011 10:44 am
mercat: (Default)
I DIDN'T SLEEP MUCH LAST NIGHT

GOT LIKE TWO HOURS

MAYBE

HAPPY FUCKSGIVEN WHICH I HAVE DETERMINED IS THE INTERSECTION OF THANKSGIVING, TURDUCKEN, AND NOT GIVING A FUCK


HAVE SOME TURKEYS WITH CROWNS BECAUSE I DON'T EVEN KNOW, FOR REALS

Photobucket

Is this a thing?

Photobucket

I guess that's a thing. Well, whatever. It's a thing now.

I DON'T HAVE ANYTHING FOR A MENU THIS YEAR but hey, I am so totally out of it, let's just say I'm intending to break tradition so I don't stress myself out in the future. RIGHT? RIGHT. Because this week has been ridiculous dealing with my grandma. Lord love her but HOLY SHITCAKES, GRANDMA. She talks and talks and talks and complains and doesn't listen when you try to explain or fix it or teach her to fix it.

SO here's the yams and holy shit I'm watching Power Rangers on the Macy's Parade right now, WHAT IS TODAY.
mercat: (Default)
LJ just ate my whole post.

Dammit.


I was already Not Giving enough Fucks to care, so, sorry. I was working on a nice little almost-carefree and certainly fucksgiven-free* not-exactly-a rant about the stereotypical genderized joke commentary and some strange assumptions and possibly dive into a little of the mysterious dark world of omg me and relationships** but I currently don't have the desire to retype it (no fucks given currently), so. I don't even have the energy to let this paragraph trawl off (that's like trail off, right?) in an ellipsis because there is far too much implied subtlety in an ellipsis and I am not implying anything right now. There is not enough depth in my stream of consciousness, I am that much in not-giving-a-fuck-mode. (I'll probably explain tomorrow.) Critical depth has not been reached. (Ha, hydraulics joke.)

Au contraire, the material may still be ripe for publishing tomorrow, as I try to scrape together a traditional Thanksgiving post because I am really not feeling it this year. I am just... out of food references.

Also let it be known that my cat's breath smells like asshole and I can smell it from 3 feet away. This could be an issue.

*Is that like Thanksgiving? New thing: it is. Happy Fucksgiven! I imagine this is because of the similarity to "turducken" as well.

**Accidentally typed relationshops. I don't know what that is but it sounds like something that exists in a hilarious alternate-reality version of Diagon Alley. [EDIT: It also might be like photoshops. Still hilarious.]



Problem: I think I am a better (read: funnier) writer when I am tired/out-of-it. I think this is because I just stream-of-consciousness better. I don't know how to control this letting-go-ness though.
mercat: (Default)
LJ just ate my whole post.

Dammit.


I was already Not Giving enough Fucks to care, so, sorry. I was working on a nice little almost-carefree and certainly fucksgiven-free* not-exactly-a rant about the stereotypical genderized joke commentary and some strange assumptions and possibly dive into a little of the mysterious dark world of omg me and relationships** but I currently don't have the desire to retype it (no fucks given currently), so. I don't even have the energy to let this paragraph trawl off (that's like trail off, right?) in an ellipsis because there is far too much implied subtlety in an ellipsis and I am not implying anything right now. There is not enough depth in my stream of consciousness, I am that much in not-giving-a-fuck-mode. (I'll probably explain tomorrow.) Critical depth has not been reached. (Ha, hydraulics joke.)

Au contraire, the material may still be ripe for publishing tomorrow, as I try to scrape together a traditional Thanksgiving post because I am really not feeling it this year. I am just... out of food references.

Also let it be known that my cat's breath smells like asshole and I can smell it from 3 feet away. This could be an issue.

*Is that like Thanksgiving? New thing: it is. Happy Fucksgiven! I imagine this is because of the similarity to "turducken" as well.

**Accidentally typed relationshops. I don't know what that is but it sounds like something that exists in a hilarious alternate-reality version of Diagon Alley. [EDIT: It also might be like photoshops. Still hilarious.]



Problem: I think I am a better (read: funnier) writer when I am tired/out-of-it. I think this is because I just stream-of-consciousness better. I don't know how to control this letting-go-ness though.
mercat: (Default)



Let's start things off right; I watched a bunch of Chuck episodes to catch up this week, how about the CIA World Factbook article on Turkey? This could potentially be hilarious if that read "The CIA World Facebook". Change one letter, CHANGE THE WORLD

The menu for 2010:
Potatoes
Peas
Stuffing
Broccoli
Rolls
Gravy
Rutabaga
Squash

(Guys, that is what the internet should be like. One great big Monty Python sketch. I want to add more foods to the menu but I CANNOT TOP THAT SITE.)

For dessert, a pecan piecosahedron! Puns are delicious.

Big holiday wishes? Big holiday wishbone. Plus, dinos. So that's more than good luck, it's... Awesome Luck? (Unrelated to Pot Luck.) (THANKSGIVING JOKES DERP)

And last but not least, the timeless yams.


Old Thanksgiving posts:
2004
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009

Holy crap seven Thanksgiving posts?! I've been around longer than I thought

Happy Thanksgiving, all! Despite my abundant blog-love for this holiday and its OBVIOUS underappreciation by internet society as a whole, I truly appreciate all you as my friends, conversation sharers, fan buddies, and (un)willing audience.

(DON'T BE THE BLITZ)

[EDIT] Found this picture, and since I didn't have any funny pictures like I normally do, I thought I'd come back and add it.

mercat: (Default)



Let's start things off right; I watched a bunch of Chuck episodes to catch up this week, how about the CIA World Factbook article on Turkey? This could potentially be hilarious if that read "The CIA World Facebook". Change one letter, CHANGE THE WORLD

The menu for 2010:
Potatoes
Peas
Stuffing
Broccoli
Rolls
Gravy
Rutabaga
Squash

(Guys, that is what the internet should be like. One great big Monty Python sketch. I want to add more foods to the menu but I CANNOT TOP THAT SITE.)

For dessert, a pecan piecosahedron! Puns are delicious.

Big holiday wishes? Big holiday wishbone. Plus, dinos. So that's more than good luck, it's... Awesome Luck? (Unrelated to Pot Luck.) (THANKSGIVING JOKES DERP)

And last but not least, the timeless yams.


Old Thanksgiving posts:
2004
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009

Holy crap seven Thanksgiving posts?! I've been around longer than I thought

Happy Thanksgiving, all! Despite my abundant blog-love for this holiday and its OBVIOUS underappreciation by internet society as a whole, I truly appreciate all you as my friends, conversation sharers, fan buddies, and (un)willing audience.

(DON'T BE THE BLITZ)

[EDIT] Found this picture, and since I didn't have any funny pictures like I normally do, I thought I'd come back and add it.

mercat: (Default)
NORMAL POST

LEGIT EXCUSE: I TOOK THE GRE TODAY THEN PARTYFAILED. MOM WAS ALL "HEY WANT TO GO TO SKYLINE AFTERWARDS?" AND I SAID PROBABLY AND I CAME HOME TO COLD PIZZA AND A REQUEST TO CLEAN THE BATHROOMS. SO I DID THAT AND LEFT. AND THEN NOBODY ACTUALLY WANTED TO "GO OUT" LIKE WE PLANNED, EVEN TO DRUNK KARAOKE, SO I WAS KINDA IN A BAD MOOD AND THIS DAY WAS KIND OF A WASTE OF MY LIFE TO BE HONEST

SO I'M UP LATE CATCHING UP ON IMPORTANT THINGS (LIKE LIVEJOURNALLING) AND NOT GIVING A SHIT BECAUSE I'M GOING TO SLEEP IN BUT WATCH THE DAMN PARADE TOMORROW ANYWAY

AND THEN AS SOON AS GRANDMA GETS DEPRESSED AND ASKS ME WHY I'M NOT DATING ETC ETC AND MOM STARTS TALKING AT ME ABOUT GRAD STUFF AGAIN I'M JUST GONNA GTFO AND GO SEE DUE DATE AND THEN GO TO WAFFLE HOUSE BECAUSE I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR PEOPLE TO GO FOR THREE WEEKS AND NOBODY WANTS TO FUCKING GO AND YOU KNOW WHAT? FINE. I'LL GO BY MYSELF. THIS IS WHY I HATE PEOPLE SOMETIMES. BECAUSE LITERALLY NO ONE IN TOWN WANTS TO GO TO THE MOVIES WITH ME.

Some fucking friends sometimes, I swear to god. There is more to life than alcohol.

BUT I DIGRESS.

/capsrage!off

(Note, that is not capsrage "yelling" but rather "comically over-loud voice".)

Now onto your regularly scheduled programming.

OH, HOW APPROPRIATE, yesterday's prompt was the last movie I saw in theatres. INCEPTION. WHEN I GOT BACK THIS SUMMER, AND I FUCKING HAD TO DRAG MY SISTER TO GO SEE IT WITH ME. And before that?! Iron Man 2! My moviegoing track this year is a shame! WHY DOES NO ONE WANT TO GO OUT TO MOVIES THIS YEAR?! Fucking idek.

Last book I read... Well, last book I finished was probably Lost City of Z which I read for fun over the summer and was amazing despite its ending. I mean, the ending is still amazing from a historical point of view but (without giving much away) the whole thing is this buildup and then--AUGH. You have to read it, if you are in the slightest a history or Indiana Jones or adventuring fan, oh boy.



...Not gonna lie though, despite being in a general good mood, handling school okay, work is going fine, working out, et cetera, I am a bit emotionally unstable at the moment. I can tell because the slightest little comments are making me upset enough to almost nearly ruin my evenings. I really can't handle people brushing me off much more to go to parties/drink but "oh I don't have enough money to go to a movie". Because alcohol comes out of the faucet for free, I see. Well alrightythen. I'm hoping Laura's not going to be bitchy tomorrow because I think I'm going to need to run away from the rest of the family with her, particularly since the cuzs (cuzns? cuzzes? idek. "cuzs" looks like it should be Polish.) are on the other side of the goddamned country.


...*sigh*. I miss my drum corps family =(

Things I also failed to bitch about earlier this week: The DJ on Saturday, who took requests up to a few days in advance because he couldn't/didn't do on-the-spot mixing (HA, mixing, if you could call it that--what with jumps and awfully apparent tempo changes), in the three hours we were at the dance, played TWO, count 'em, TWO songs that were 1) older than 2000, 2) not a dance/pop/hip-hop song. Seriously, the guy was awful. About 30 minutes in to the dance he played "Wannabe" (Spice Girls--ngl had to look up the title of that song) and with about 20 minutes left he played "You Shook Me All Night Long". The only other song he played that wasn't some currently-top-40-but-actually-shitty-dance-tune-excuse-to-party-hard song was Pokerface. So out of the songs I requested (Fuck You, anything by Gaga, anything by Queen, and anything by Billy Joel), I got one song. Needless to say, I was PISSED THE FUCK OFF. I spent probably half to two-thirds of the dance glaring at the DJ from my chair. I mean, this could be the fault of the coordinators who hired a friend-of-a-friend and maybe forgot to forward our requests, but what kind of shitty DJ plays pretty much ONE TYPE OF SONG all night?! And not even varying between dance tunes and slow songs? WE HAD NO SLOW SONGS ALL NIGHT.

Basically I'm pissed at everyone and everything right now and I'm about to snap. Not angry-snap but just break-down-snap and no one seems to really give a shit, because that's just how things go. Ugh. I'm kinda tired of this crap, really.

Also I do not recommend trying to follow a conversation about a boyfriend's roommate's cousin who is that person's ex and their crazy parents at a party after taking the GRE, because the actual GRE's paragraph and word problems turned out to be much more difficult and brain-power-consuming than I expected them to be and I was (and am) rather brain dead on the this-idea-requires-a-complex-sentence-of-at-least-four-phrases front.

But onto the linkspam:

So, uh, this happened.

MY LIFE MAY OR MAY NOT BE COMPLETE NOW. <3

A really interesting article about Florence Nightingale's influential graph and a common mathematical fallacy of graph creation/interpretation. Fascinating because I encounter a lot of misunderstood data on a fairly regular basis (thank you, journalism majors), and also because these are the type of subtleties you may have to discern between on the GRE. (I did pretty well on the quantitative section, but the reading/vocab was much more difficult than I anticipated and I nearly ran out of time, having to guess haphazardly at a few questions.) Anyway. Data is pretty, and presentation is valuable. I wish I knew more about the historical context of these charts because it might be an interesting topic for Ada Lovelace Day, although perhaps something that focuses on the graphical fallacy is not the best topic. (Nightingale was particularly observant in clinical matters though, wasn't she? Wasn't she the one who told people to wash their hands, basically, kill less people with infection? Or am I thinking of someone else entirely? FIFTH GRADE HISTORY IS FAILING ME.)

An interesting article about Native American culture, race, and steampunk, with significantly more win than all the shenanigans last year. Although I must admit, I don't think I ever heard the story of "the first Thanksgiving" in school. At least, not as a history lesson, but as more of a holiday folklore type thing, minus maybe the "learning how to plant corn" part. ALTHOUGH ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THAT we never approached it from the accuracy point-of-view either. So.

For the record I still don't like "ray guns" as a steampunk thing. I have never come into acceptance of them. Then again I've also become more standoffish about pop culture's reaction to steampunk as a whole anyhow, so, some part of me just also doesn't give a shit (that my entire POV on steampunk is decidedly different, because the generic running-with-steampunk scene is not my cup of tea).

DAMN I AM RANTY TONIGHT. Sorry about that folks. I'm a bit tweaky, it seems.

(I do like that EL wire on the gun, though, despite my active distaste for mods of that nerf gun... Hm. Considerations, considerations.)


Holy crap this test fried my brain a lot more than I expected it to. First I was moody, now I'm just too tired to parse any article with more than one sentence and a funny picture. Basically my brain is running like MemeGenerator at the moment.

Profile

mercat: (Default)
mercat

November 2021

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324 252627
282930    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:18 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios